You know I mentioned pitfalls….

…well who knew I’d be hit with one on my very first day?  Ok, it wasn’t anything major but it is an inconvenience when your trusted watch fails you before you’ve even begun!  It survived an Orphanage in South Africa, three years working at a children’s summer camp, and a month in a Kenyan school but clearly a UK Primary school was just too terrifying.

Luckily, that was my only pitfall of the day (hurrah).  It’s always nerve-racking entering a new environment, let alone one packed full of children.  You sit there wondering how long it will take them to realise that you have no idea what you’re doing or where anything is, all you can do is stare at the clock and count down the minutes until they begin to run circles around you….. Luckily, nobody ran in any kind of circle; I’m very lucky to have been accepted into such a lovely school for my first placement.  I’m with Year 2 which, in the English school system, is part of Key Stage 1.  I’m in the Infant part of the school which, technically, shouldn’t’ have classes bigger than 30 children; the class I’m in has had special permission to expand to 31 children so, as you can imagine, it was quite a busy day!

Listening skills weren’t fantastic today, and it was startling to hear how few children could remember what they did at the weekend, but I think we can put that down to Monday-morning-second-week-of-term-itis!  We covered phonics, literacy, maths, science and library time today so it was jam-packed and a little bit damp (the British weather has definitely decided it is no longer Summer).

So in all it was a successful day – I’ll keep you posted to let you know how the rest of my week goes – but, for now it’s time to start typing up my observations, and getting on with my essay!

Leave a Reply

