What Half-term feels like….

What Half-term feels like....

So it’s happened, we’ve reached half-term! Seven weeks into the course, three spent in school and five at faculty. It’s a wonderful feeling to know that you’ve reached half-term…not that it’s called half-term, it’s ‘assignment preparation week’, We have 6000 words to write but right now, that’s not on my mind!

I know I’ve sounded a bit down about the whole course this week, but that’s because the PGCE is tough, really, really tough and I’m not quite ‘getting’ the Faculty side of things; the school bit however is right up my street (which is good because that’s where I need to be as a teacher). But don’t let my negativity about the course put you off. Whilst at times during the course it feels like you’re dragging the whole word with you, and you know you need to be able to lift it but you just can’t seem to get it off the floor it’s important not to give up. Because eventually, and this is what I’m hoping will happen, by the end of the year that world is gonna bounce right off the floor and hover above my head and I’ll have conquered it (world is clearly being used as a metaphor for the PGCE course….I’m tired right now, stay with it!).

In the meantime I’m looking forward to a week of focused work, because then it’ll just be one more week until I’m back in the classroom – now let me at ’em!!

Leave a Reply

